Skip to main content

Norfolk Southern CEO Moorman named Railway Age 'Railroader of the Year'

Norfolk, VA - Dec 09, 2010


Charles W. "Wick" Moorman, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Norfolk Southern Corp., has been named 2011 Railroader of the Year by railroad industry trade journal Railway Age.

"Wick Moorman provides the strong leadership that has enabled Norfolk Southern to make great strides in areas that are critical to the future of the railroad industry," said Railway Age Editor William C. Vantuono. "In addition to performing solidly, controlling costs, improving productivity, and continuing to invest in growth capital in a recessionary economy, Norfolk Southern has excelled in technological innovation and development of public-private partnerships. Among the many examples of these accomplishments are the railroad's building and testing of an all-electric battery-powered yard locomotive, and opening the Heartland Corridor, a major intermodal artery developed in partnership with several states. Norfolk Southern is strongly positioned for growth and is an example of why railroads are increasingly the mode of choice for the nation's transportation needs. This is why we have chosen Wick Moorman as our 2011 Railroader of the Year."

"I am honored by this recognition," said Moorman. "It reflects on the entire Norfolk Southern team - talented, dedicated, and committed to safety - who make our company a success. They are the very best in the business, and I am proud to be one of them."

Moorman is Railway Age's 48th Railroader of the Year. Modern Railroads magazine founded the award, one of the most prestigious in the railroad industry, in 1964 as the "Man of the Year." Railway Age acquired Modern Railroads in 1991 and has presented the award annually since then. Moorman will be honored on March 15, 2011, at Chicago's Union League Club. He follows in the footsteps of several railroad industry icons from the Norfolk Southern, Norfolk & Western, and Southern railways: Stephen C. Tobias (2008), David R. Goode (2005 and 1998), Arnold B. McKinnon (1990), L. Stanley Crane (1974), and D.W. Brosnan (1964), the first Railroader of the Year.

Railway Age will tell the story of Wick Moorman and the remarkable, innovative organization he leads at Norfolk Southern with a cover story in the magazine's January 2011 issue.

Norfolk Southern Corporation (NYSE: NSC) is one of the nation's premier transportation companies. Its Norfolk Southern Railway subsidiary operates approximately 21,000 route miles in 22 states and the District of Columbia, serves every major container port in the eastern United States, and provides efficient connections to other rail carriers. Southern operates the most extensive intermodal network in the East and is a major transporter of coal and industrial products.

Railway Age is a monthly trade magazine circulated at the management levels of North American freight and passenger railroads. Founded in Chicago, Ill., in 1856, it is the transportation industry's longest-running trade publication. Railway Age is published by the Simmons-Boardman Publishing Corp., New York.


Railroader of the Year recipients under Modern Railroads:
1964: D.W. Brosnan, Southern Railway System
1965: Stuart T. Saunders, Pennsylvania Railroad Co.
1966: Stuart T. Saunders, Pennsylvania Railroad Co.
1967: Louis W. Menk, Northern Pacific Railway
1968: William B. Johnson, Illinois Central Railroad
1969: John W. Barriger, Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad
1970: John S. Reed, Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway
1971: Jervis Langdon Jr., Penn Central Transportation Co.
1972: Charles Luna, United Transportation Union
1973: James B. Germany, Southern Pacific Transportation Co.
1974: L. Stanley Crane, Southern Railway System
1975: Frank E. Barnett, Union Pacific Railroad
1976: Dr. William J. Harris Jr., Association of American Railroads
1977: Edward G. Jordan, Conrail
1978: Robert M. Brown, Union Pacific Railroad
1979: Theodore C. Lutz, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority
1980: John G. German, Missouri Pacific Railroad Co.
1981: Lawrence Cena, Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway
1982: A. Paul Funkhouser, Family Lines Rail System
1983: L. Stanley Crane, Conrail
1984: Hays T. Watkins, CSX Corp.
1985: John L. Cann, Canadian National
1986: Raymond C. Burton Jr., Trailer Train Co.
1987: Willis B. Kyle, Kyle Railways
1988: Darius W. Gaskins Jr., Burlington Northern
1989: W. Graham Claytor Jr., Amtrak
1990: Arnold B. McKinnon, Norfolk Southern
1991: Mike Walsh, Union Pacific Railroad

Recipients under Railway Age:
1992: William H. Dempsey, Association of American Railroads
1993: Raymond C. Burton Jr., TTX Co.
1994: L.S. "Jake" Jacobson, Copper Basin Railway
1995: Edwin Moyers, Southern Pacific Transportation Co.
1996: Robert D. Krebs, AT&SF, and Gerald Grinstein, Burlington Northern
1997: Paul M. Tellier, Canadian National
1998: David R. Goode, Norfolk Southern
1999: Edward A. Burkhardt, Wisconsin Central Transportation Co.
2000: The Railroad Worker (award presented as "Railroader of the Century" for 2000)
2001: Michael R. Haverty, Kansas City Southern Railway
2002: E. Hunter Harrison, Canadian National/Illinois Central
2003: Richard K. Davidson, Union Pacific Railroad
2004: Robert J. Ritchie, Canadian Pacific Railway
2005: David R. Goode, Norfolk Southern
2006: Richard F. Timmons, American Short Line & Regional Railroad Association
2007: William E. Wimmer, Union Pacific Railroad
2008: Stephen C. Tobias, Norfolk Southern
2009: Michael J. Ward, CSX
2010: Matthew K. Rose, BNSF
2011: Wick Moorman, Norfolk Southern


Norfolk Southern contacts:
(Media) Frank Brown, 757-629-2710 (
(Investors) Leanne Marilley, 757-629-2861 (