Skip to main content

TRANSCAER® names national award recipients

Washington, DC - Apr 06, 2012


For Immediate Release April 6, 2012
Contact: Patrick Hurston (202) 249-6506


WASHINGTON, DC (April 6, 2012) - TRANSCAER® (Transportation Community Awareness and Emergency Response), a voluntary national outreach effort that focuses on assisting communities to prepare for and respond to a possible hazardous materials transportation incident, today announced the recipients of its 2011 National Awards Recognition Program.

The TRANSCAER® Awards Program recognizes the achievements of individuals, companies and organizations that exceed in advocating, demonstrating and implementing the principles of TRANSCAER at the national and regional levels. These awards include: the National and Regional Achievement Awards; the Chairman's Award, a special, discretionary award given by the National TRANSCAER Task Group Chairman; The Torch Award, an inaugural award recognizing those individuals whose legacy leaves a lasting impact on the TRANSCAER program; and Individual and Certificate of Achievements Awards.

"Our 2011 training season, thanks in large part to the more than 60,000 emergency responders trained during our anhydrous ammonia tour, was the most impactful training year in TRANSCAER's history," said National TRANSCAER Task Group Chair Rollie Shook, of The Dow Chemical Company. "The TRANSCAER Awards program allows us to acknowledge and thank our dedicated volunteers for their truly remarkable accomplishments, demonstrated through their continuous efforts to ensure communities are prepared to deal with possible hazardous materials transportation related incidents."

The 2011 National TRANSCAER® Awards Recipients include:
National Achievement:

  • BNSF Railway Company
  • CN Dangerous Goods Team, Canadian National Railways
  • Canadian Pacific
  • CSX Transportation
  • DuPont CAER Car Program
  • Norfolk Southern Corporation
  • The Dow Chemical Company
  • Union Pacific Railroad

Chairman's Award:

  • Don Evans, American Chemistry Council

Torch Award:

  • Mike Stiner, TRANSCAER Region 2 Coordinator, Norfolk Southern Corporation

Regional Achievement: 

  • Bob Baxter, TRANSCAER's North Carolina State Team Coordinator, HEPACO
  • TRANSCAER's California State Team, Scott Etzel, The Dow Chemical Company; and Dan Coots, TCR Industries, Inc.
  • Dave Buccolo, TRANSCAER's Region 4 Coordinator, Central California Traction Company

TRANSCAER also presented 29 Individual Achievement Awards to individuals who worked to advance the principles of TRANSCAER and 73 Certificates of Appreciation, given in recognition of assistance at a TRANSCAER event. Many recipients will be presented their awards at a ceremony taking place on May 22, 2012 at the 25th Annual Association of American Railroads/Bureau of Explosive's HazMat Seminar in St. Louis, MO.

The full list of current and previous award recipients is available by visiting the TRANSCAER Web site at

TRANSCAER (Transportation Community Awareness and Emergency Response) is a voluntary national outreach effort that focuses on assisting communities prepare for and respond to possible hazardous material transportation incidents. TRANSCAER members include volunteer representatives from the chemical manufacturing, transportation, distribution, and emergency response industries, as well as the government.

TRANSCAER is sponsored by the American Chemistry Council, the Association of American Railroads, CHEMTREC®, The Chlorine Institute, The Fertilizer Institute and the Renewable Fuels Association. For more information on TRANSCAER, visit